Home > Contemporary >

The Aslan Suite, by Scott Cowan
The Aslan Suite,<em> by Scott Cowan</em>

Our Price: $275.00

Availability:: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 Business Days
Product Code: 1809

Description About the Composer
A seven movement original composition for large jazz ensemble, auxiliary percussion and narrator (optional). The thematic material presented in the various movements is programmatic in design, tracing events found in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis. Literary events are realized muscially through the use of a multitude of timbres within the jazz orchestra (e.g., various mute combinations for the brass and extensive doubling for the woodwinds). Contemporary jazz compositional techniques are utilized throughout in conjunction with the composer's own compositional and orchestrational choices. Performance time is 60 minutes. The Suite was premiered by the award-winning University of Miami Concert Jazz Band in February 2001. Movements from The Suite received an Outstanding Recognition Award in 2002 "Original Extended Jazz Composition" category in Down Beat Magazine's International Collegiate Awards.
The Seven Movements are:
I. Overture for Narnia
II. The Children in the Wardrobe
III. The Land of Narnia
IV. The Turkish Delight
V. The Witch's House
VI. ASLAN: Still Deeper, A Magic Before the Dawn of Time
VII. The Great Battle

View all charts by Scott Cowan

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Jazz Ensemble