Home > Other/Uncategorized >

A Fish Caught By The Emperor
Little Big Band
by Kevin Brunkhorst

A Fish Caught By The Emperor<br>Little Big Band<br><em>by Kevin Brunkhorst</em>

Our Price: $50.00
Difficulty Level: IV
Trumpet Range: G5

Availability:: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 Business Days
Product Code: 2272

Description About the Composer
A Fish Caught By The Emperor begins with soprano sax and piano; the main melody is stated by pairs of horns (tenor and trombone, then trumpet and soprano sax). The style is meant to be reminiscent of Miles Davis' 60s Quintet, and tunes such as 'Water Babies' and 'Nefertiti'. Harmonies include much use of diminished sounds and extensions. Voicings are often based on inversions of extended chords; often the third is in the bass, and there are many chords based over foreign-sounding roots. The guitar's role is equal to that of a horn player. The solo sections (two, bass, and soprano sax) use a form in which ensemble passages alternate with long held altered chords, which will provide a challenge for the soloist. The form is almost completely through-composed. The range is not high.

View all charts by Kevin Brunkhorst

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Jazz Ensemble > Little Big Band
Difficulty Level: IV